July 18th – Deadline for 2017 Annual Meeting and Conference Award Nominations


Call for 2017 Annual Conference Awards Open!


Do you know someone deserving of an SSWLHC Award? Nominate them today! See below for Awards purpose and expectations of Nominees:


Ida M. Cannon Award
This award honors a national figure in health care social work and member of SSWLHC for outstanding contributions to the leadership of social work in a health care setting. Candidates must be widely recognized leaders in the field of health care social work and demonstrate the qualities that made Ida Cannon successful as the first social work leader in health care.


Health Care Social Work Leader of the Year Award
This award honors a social work leader in health care who develops and implements creative and innovative ways to improve the delivery of social work services. In this context, leader refers to all social workers who have had central involvement in developing the improved delivery systems.


Eleanor Clark Award For Innovative Programs in Patient Care
This award honors an individual or team for the development, implementation and evaluation of a clinical or social action program that emulates Eleanor Clark’s spirit of discovery and innovation. In addition, the award seeks to promote the creative and valuable new programs throughout the health care field.


Hyman J. Weiner Award
This award honors an SSWLHC member who typifies Hyman J. Weiner’s outstanding qualities as a teacher, scholar, advocate, change agent and humorous and compassionate person. Candidates will be evaluated for their demonstration of these qualities, as well as for their excellence in their field as described below.


Joan Upshaw Award
This award honors an individual who demonstrates the application of entrepreneurship or intrapreneurship principles in their role as a formal or informal leader in social work in health care, including identifying and starting new ventures, increasing the efficacy and efficiency of social work interventions, generating new social work products and services and advocating for the profession of social work.


To nominate someone today, please fill out the nominations form and email to Megan Stauffer by July 18, 2017. Best of luck to all nominees!